Although occupied since the mid-1800′s, the City of Hutto was not officially incorporated until 1911. In 2004, the City of Hutto adopted a home rule charter with a Council-Manager form of government. The City Council is comprised of a mayor and six council members, all elected at large. The City Council, at their discretion, hires a City Manager to act as the Chief Administrative Officer of the City of Hutto.

The City Manager administers the day-to-day operations of the City including the City’s personnel. The City is broken into seven departments: Administration, Finance, Development Services, Public Works, Public Safety, Parks and Recreation, and Non-Departmental. Within each department are a number of divisions that perform different functions within the department and City. The City has received praise for the recently adopted SmartCode zoning as well as the City’s Downtown Plan.

Williamson County is governed by a 5-member Commissioner’s Court comprised of the County Judge and 4 commissioners.

To view the City of Hutto website, click here.

To view the Williamson County website, click here.